Patinating silver

So the kind of thing I find myself doing in my spare time is trying to patinate silver plate using eggs.

I wanted to give the silver plated cuff link settings below a nice dark patina, so decided to test out this fangled egg theory.

The only thing you really need to know is that I thought I had to use raw egg yolks instead of cooked ones.

The cuff links are still in the bag with the yolks after 4 days. They are just sitting on the kitchen counter, waiting. I daren’t take them out.

 

Next time, when I have more eggs, I’m going to follow the method on e-how, here. ¬†Failing that, ¬†there’s always Liver of Sulphur, which is significantly less egg-involving. Hoorah.

Leave a Reply

go to bookity’s shop

new Etsy.Mini(5624320,'thumbnail',3,2,0,'http://www.etsy.com'); Folksy

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 15 other followers

archive

October 2011
M T W T F S S
« Nov    
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

