Adventures in garlanding

I made these map garlands as a special request for a customer and they have proved rather popular. The map colours glow in the light – all those blues and green smoosh together into something very pretty.

This is the style I call ‘paper onions’. I don’t know what else to call them!

These are paper hearts, strung on twine. There are eight on a string. I’ve toyed with making longer ones  of maybe even 16 – I think they’d look quite spectacular for a going away party or something like that.

I’d like to experiment with something other than twine though. I like the rustic effect and I think it goes well with the paper but I’d like to try it with some sort of silky cord maybe, or ribbon. I’ve just bought a few things to try out, so watch this space for yet more adventures in garlanding.

70 responses to “Adventures in garlanding

  1. It’s good to see you back. The garlands are lovely!

  2. Hi!
    I loved this post.
    Hey, things as originally published. Gorgeus
    Big kiss … I follow the clue: D

  3. Love these! I have an old atlas that I use for wrapping paper, card accents, and handcrafted envelopes. I love seeing these go to good use!

  4. Pingback: Origami Box Ornaments · Home and Garden | CraftGossip.com

  5. kasha

    I love this. My little mind can’t wrap around how you make these. I am sure everyone else can look at these and just make them, but is there a tutorial by chance?
    grubandstuff.blogspot.com

  6. Pingback: 9 Cool Map Crafts and Projects · Home and Garden | CraftGossip.com

  7. I just wanted to stop by and let you know that I linked to this post today from the Home & Garden channel at Craft Gossip. :)

    Your feature will appear in the main Craft Gossip RSS feed, on the main home page and can be found directly here
    http://homeandgarden.craftgossip.com/9-cool-map-crafts-projects/

    If you would like a “featured by” button, you can grab one here!
    http://homeandgarden.craftgossip.com/grab-a-craft-gossip-button/

  8. ohiocrafter

    Would love to have instructions. Great way to recycle all those old maps and atlases.

  9. My roommate and boyfriend and I just had a craft night and made 15 of these, as onions and hearts and onion-heart hybrid and flowers. So thank you for the idea, it was really fun! Our kitchen thanks you too.

  10. Pingback: paper onion Christmas ornaments « rachel's blog

  11. Kaytee

    where did you find the twine string?

    • bookity

      I use a brand called Nutscene – they’re good quality and they thoughtfully make twine in pretty colours now, like purple and red.

  12. Rachel Wilson

    What did you use to keep all the pieces together? And is the top looped for the twine to pass through?

  13. Pingback: Does Your Old Map Need Direction? | Repurpose that Shtuff

  14. Pingback: Map It: DIY It | The Row House Nest

  15. Hello, I really like your garlands! My friend is emigrating soon and I thought I’d give them a go: if you have time, is there any chance of some instructions? I’m not very “crafty’ so need to be told exactly what to do!

  16. Pingback: 9 Ideas para hacer guirnaldas

  17. Pingback: Destination Wedding Ideas - Map Themed Wedding Decor

  18. Pingback: For the Love of Travel « My Home Life | Decor, Design and DIY

  19. Pingback: Arm Chair Travel With These DIY Map Projects | EcoSalon | Conscious Culture and Fashion

  20. Pingback: Mapping Out Your Home – Fun Friday Decor « The Good Girls Guide

  21. Pingback: » 2X4: Four Ways to Reuse Old Maps BrightNest Blog

  22. Pingback: Main Ingredient Monday – Maps

  23. A better approach to smartly express the subject. I really hope you continue on developing such an
    amazing and informative report. Cant wait for your next work.

  24. Right after analyzing this post I should assert that
    the author did some analysis to be able to demonstrate the area of interest a bit more.
    All the recommended insight is listed and is documented very well.
    I must say this is one of the most insightful post Ive read
    so far

  25. This post is a combination of everything. Engaging yet, very informational.

  26. I do agree on every single thing you just mentioned.

    Even though not all of your readers may agree on your understanding concerning this topic,
    still this article is very educational. Keep it up!

  27. Not a basic subject to blog about yet I must say you have a skill for writing.
    Very well said. Thank you again

  28. Are you certain? I have seen many of your works but I must disagree
    on you on this one. But then again were two different individual with
    specific stand. Anyway, keep up the good work

  29. I do agree with everything that is documented on this page.
    I have to say we do have the same insights regarding this point and
    I am happy I am not the only one. Thanx!

  30. I should praise you on such a very helpful post.
    I don’t usually comment on articles but somehow this post caught
    my eyes.
    Very well constructed. Thanx

  31. I don’t normally leave remarks on any article however this post
    captured my attention, I have to put a remark. I
    have to proclaim this article is well written. No extra
    words and is honest

  32. Are you certain? I have seen most of your works however I must disagree on you on this topic.
    But then again were two different people with specific points of view.
    Regardless, great work

  33. I have been browsing for an amazing source for this topic and
    good thing I saw your website. Everything was well explained.
    Manny thanks

  34. Passing by your blog again and I must say you still have your touch!

    This post explains every single thing, I don’t need to
    read other people’s blog to understand it more.
    You said everything I really need to know. Thanks!

  35. I am unsure if I should agree on this post or not.

    However for the reason that we all have unique ideas, I must
    respect your perspective. But I have to say, I was pretty much
    convinced because you’ve documented it very well.

  36. I am unclear if I should go along on this post or not.
    However since we all have uncommon viewpoints, I should consider your opinion.
    But I need to say, I was nearly convinced basically because you’ve
    written it very well.

  37. Are you certain? I have read a lot of your works but I
    must disagree on you on this topic. However were two different individual
    with uncommon points of view. Regardless, great work

  38. I do agree on every single thing you just mentioned.

    Even though not all of your audience may agree on your insight concerning this concept, still this post is very useful.
    Continue the good work!

  39. I do agree on everything you just mentioned.
    While not all of your audience may agree on your understanding regarding
    this topic, still this article is very useful. Continue the good work!

  40. Its been quite some time since I checked your website (too occupied, sorry) but
    as foreseen, this article is sure enough another desirable work from you
    once again. Continue the good work

  41. I am unclear if I should agree on this post or not.
    On the other hand, considering that we all have uncommon viewpoints, I must
    consider your opinion. Yet somehow I have to say, I was roughly convinced since you’ve composed it very
    well.

  42. I have been on the lookout for an incredible source for this topic and
    good thing I visited your website. Everything was well discussed.

    Manny thanks

  43. Right after scanning this post I must proclaim that
    the author did a lot of research to explain the point more.
    All the needed information is showcased and is documented very well.
    I must say this is amongst the most interesting article Ive seen so far

  44. An additional insight inserted to my brain Hahah. I must say you did defined this very
    well. Keep it up

  45. I just distributed this post on my facebook account. Content
    pages like this should be read by most people. Very interesting

  46. Its been quite a while since I checked your
    website (too occupied, sorry) however as expected, this blog post
    is sure enough another notable work from you again.
    Keep it up

  47. An additional insight added to my brain Hehe. I have to say you did mentioned this very
    well. Continue the good work

  48. I have been searching for a perfect source for this area of interest and
    good thing I visited your internet site. Everything was
    well expressed. Manny thanks

  49. Not a basic area of interest to blog about yet I should say you have an ability for writing.
    Very well outlined. Thanx again

  50. This blog post is a mixture of everything. Compelling yet, very beneficial.

  51. Wonderful, what a weblog it is! This website presents useful facts to us, keep it up.

  52. Hey There. I discovered your blog using msn. This is
    a very smartly written article. I will be sure to bookmark it and return to read extra of your
    useful information. Thank you for the post. I’ll definitely comeback.

  53. Hello, Neat post. There’s a problem together with your site in internet explorer, could check this?
    IE still is the market leader and a good
    section of folks will leave out your fantastic writing because of this problem.

  54. Free Full Movies HD Quality – Download Free Full Movies In Here.

    I know you are searching for the way you can watch full movies
    HD Quality 1080p and also you can download with HD Quality 1080p.

    Lots of websites are scattered on the internet which provides movies to watch online, and of course you have to spend some money to subscribe

    to become a member. Boring is not it? Here we will show you the one way that you can watch full movies HD Quality 1080p and also you can

    download with HD Quality 1080p just by registering as
    a member of the online movie website without spending any money!
    Because you have
    to know that the online movie websites which I will show to you are providing attractive offers namely “Get 5 Days Trial Offer”!

    Enjoy watching movie full movies HD Quality 1080p and download with HD Quality 1080p online instantly after you complete the registration.

    And you can cancel the subscription at any time you want. I’m sure you will not be
    disappointed!

  55. whoah this webllog is wondferful i love reading your posts.

    Stay up the great work! You realize, lots oof persons are hunting around for this info, you can aid them greatly.

  56. Its such as you read my thoughts! You appear to grasp
    a lot approximately this, such as you wrote the guide in it or something.
    I feel that you can do with some % to drive the message house a
    little bit, however other than that, this is magnificent
    blog. An excellent read. I’ll certainly be back.

  57. Nice post. I used to be checking constantly this weblog and I am inspired!
    Extremely useful information specifically the closing section :) I care for
    such information much. I was seeking this certain info for a very lengthy time.
    Thank you and good luck.

  58. Not only are there better pictures and the sound much improved
    but there are also more programming choices or multicasting,
    as well as interactive capacities. I love watching The Vampire Dairies;
    I have been watching it since Season 1. The web changed the
    way that men and women live and do business.

  59. For example, a company website will need e-commerce website design services and high quality graphics
    in order to capitalize on internet promoting and advertise a big current of
    traffic to the website. Google webmaster tools will help you
    to index your website easily and to solve any changed error.
    Besides, it helps you in being updated and
    on par with the ever changing trends in the market.

  60. It’s an remarkable post in favor of all the web
    people; they will get benefit from it I am sure.

  61. MTD Snowblower Auger Blade Kit 753-0613 $70 Complete
    kit includes 4 rubber augers, 2 center augers and attaching hardware.

    Genuine OEM Part – Manufacturer #753-0613

Leave a Reply

go to bookity’s shop

new Etsy.Mini(5624320,'thumbnail',3,2,0,'http://www.etsy.com'); Folksy

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 13 other followers

archive

September 2010
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Nov »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

